Former Chattanooga golfer Stephan Jaeger has been chosen to the 2012 All-Nicklaus team, the Golf Coaches of America announced on Thursday.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008 in honor of history’s greatest player, Jack Nicklaus, who is also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at Ohio State, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Awards in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men’s golfer in Divisions I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

Jaeger’s list of program firsts is impressive:

. First All-Nicklaus Team in school history.


. First first-team All-American in school history.

. First four-time PING All-East Region selection in school history.

. First three-time Southern Conference Golfer of the Year in league history.

. First Ben Hogan Award nominee in school history.

He holds virtually every school record, some of them set during his championship run to end the season.

Jaeger tied PGA Tour winner Brad Faxon’s (Furman) record for largest margin of victory (11) at the SoCon Championship. He followed that setting the Mocs’ 54-hole scoring mark shooting 13-under par 203 winning the NCAA Bowling Green Regional and topping five Top 20 amateurs in the R&A World Ranking,s including No. 1 Patrick Cantlay by 17 shots.

2012 All-Nicklaus Team

Nathan Anderson, Texas Wesleyan

Jake Argento, South Mountain Community College

Blayne Barber, Auburn

Trevor Blair, CSU-Stanislaus

Julien Brun, TCU

Clark Collier, Oklahoma City

Josh Creel, Central Oklahoma

Dylan Frittelli, Texas

Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga

Jimmy Kozikowski, South Mountain Community College

Anthony Maccaglia, Oglethorpe

Noah Ratner, Guilford

Patrick Rodgers, Stanford

Carlos Rodriguez, West Florida

Joe Sakulpolphaisan, Darton College

Kyle Souza, Chico State

Jordan Spieth, Texas

Jake Sterling, Meridian Community College

Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern

Justin Thomas, Alabama

Aaron Watkins, Cumberlands

Chris Williams, Washington

Eugene Wong, Oregon

Derek Zachman, La Verne