Chattanooga senior Steven Fox is one of 27 players chosen to the Ben Hogan Award Watch List for 2013. Fox follows 2012 PING first-team All-American and former teammate Stephan Jaeger, who made the list a year ago.

The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period.

Fox is the 19th-ranked player in the world according the R&A World Amateur Rankings. Out of the top 20, 13 are student-athletes playing collegiate golf.

The last six months have been intense for the 2012 United States Amateur Champion. He has represented the U.S. in two amateur competitions and made his PGA Tour debut last weekend at the Farmers Insurance Open at historic Torrey Pines Golf Club outside San Diego, Calif.


Fox and national teammates Chris Williams (Washington) and Justin Thomas (Alabama) captured the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championship in Turkey in October. Williams and Fox combined with ladies Erynne Lee (UCLA) and Lindy Duncan (Duke) to finish third at the Copa de las Americas in January at Doral Golf Resort and Spa.

He is also one of the leaders of the UTC golf team. Fox is second only to junior Chris Robb (Aberdeenshire, Scotland). Fox’s 72.33 is just behind Robb’s 71.73 stroke average. His international resume along with solid collegiate play in the fall made him an easy selection for the watch list.

“It has been quite a year for Steven,” UTC coach Mark Guhne said. “With a spectacular spring, he has a real shot at winning this award, but that is too far to look ahead. He’ll do what he does best, live in the moment. It’s what allowed him to make his comeback at the U.S. Amateur and serves him well today.

“He has a long way to go to get there. We have a full spring schedule and postseason, and he has a little tournament in April he’s entered at Augusta National. He’ll play it out and see where we end up.”

The award, first issued in 1990, also included academic achievement in its original list of standards but revised its criteria for the 2001-02 season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding collegiate golfer.

Since that time, the winners have been D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011) and Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012).

Fox and sophomore Liam Johnston (Dumfries, Scotland) are in Sea Island, Ga., this weekend for the Jones Cup Invitational. The 54-hole event is played Friday through Sunday, Feb. 1-3, at Ocean Forest Golf Club.