Baylor School’s Reggie Upshaw has been chosen as a finalist for the Division II-Class AA Mr. Basketball Award, along with Ensworth’s Cornelius Elder and Briarcrest’s Austin Nichols.

Upshaw, who has signed to play basketball at Middle Tennessee State, has missed much of the 2012-13 season with a foot injury, but he’s been extremely effective when on the court. The 6-7 forward scored 31 points in the Red Raiders’ 57-56 win over rival McCallie on Jan. 27, then added 32 in the team’s 65-63 loss to the Blue Tornado last Saturday.

Upshaw, also a standout wide receiver for Baylor’s football team, has been the leading scorer for the Red Raiders the previous two seasons, averaging 18 points, 11 rebounds and three assists per game last year, leading Baylor to the Division II-AA final four.

Awards will be presented to the top girls and boys in five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association prior to the championship game awards presentation for each class, respectively.


A statewide committee of sportswriters selected winners based on performance during the 2012-13 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head basketball coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

Here’s a look at all 30 finalists:

Class A Miss Basketball Finalists

Jaycee Coe, Jackson County

Sarah Raby, Moore County

Brooke Rhodes, Cloudland

Class AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Brandi Goodman, Obion County

Elizabeth Masengil, McMinn Central

Abbey Sissom, Cannon County

Class AAA Miss Basketball Finalists

Nina Davis, Memphis Central

Olivia Jones, Riverdale

Alexa Middleton, Riverdale

Division II-A Miss Basketball Finalists

Eliza Edwards, University School of Jackson

Kaylah Keys, Harding Academy

Derica Wyatt, Franklin Road Academy

Division II-AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Jasmin Cincore, Briarcrest

Kennesha Nichols, Ensworth

Justice Swett, Ensworth

Class A Mr. Basketball Finalists

Alex Fountain, Wartburg Central

Zarmarlus Griffin, Booker T. Washington

Derrick Spears, Middle Tennessee Christian

Class AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Jalen Lindsey, Christ Presbyterian Academy

A.J. Merriweather, Jackson South Side

Mason Ramsey, Livingston Academy

Class AAA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Robert Hubbs, Dyer County

Nick King, Memphis East

Darius Thompson, Blackman

Division II-A Mr. Basketball Finalists

Skal Labissiere, Evangelical Christian School

Cameron Payne, Lausanne

Burton Sampson, Webb School of Knoxville

Division II-AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Corneilus Elder, Ensworth

Austin Nichols, Briarcrest

Reggie Upshaw, Baylor