KNOXVILLE – The SEC league office announced postseason basketball awards on Tuesday afternoon. Tennessee guard Jordan McRae was named to the first team, while forward Jarnell Stokes received second-team honors.

The teams were voted on by the league’s coaches, but a coach was not permitted to vote for his own players. Tennessee coach Cuonzo Martin had publically voiced support for McRae’s to be named Player of the Year, an honor that went to Georgia guard Kentavious Caldwell-Pope.

"I think if I had a vote, I would vote for Jordan McRae,” Martin said earlier this month. “Caldwell-Pope is a very talented guy, you look across the boards, you look at the numbers, the percentages, the production, I'd vote Jordan McRae.

“I'm not just saying that because he's my guy and I really like the way Caldwell-Pope plays the game. I think both of those guys will be at that level if they continue on the pace that they're on, have a long career.”

McRae, who led the SEC in minutes played in conference games (37.7 per game), was third in scoring (19.2 ppg) and

Jarnell Stokes gets post position at Vanderbilt (Photo: Jeff Newman Photography)

fifth in 3-point percentage (.392), becomes UT’s 44th player to be named to the first team.

Stokes finished league play averaging a double-double (13.1 ppg, 10.7 rpg). He led all SEC players with 14 double-doubles on the season.

First Team All-SEC                                                                               

Trevor Releford, Alabama

Erik Murphy, Florida

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

Johnny O’Bryant III, LSU

Phil Pressey, Missouri

Jordan McRae, Tennessee

Elston Turner, Texas A&M


Second Team All-SEC                                                                          

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas

B.J. Young, Arkansas

Kenny Boynton, Florida

Mike Rosario, Florida

Patric Young, Florida

Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss

Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss

Laurence Bowers, Missouri

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee


SEC All-Freshman Team                                                                     

Michael Frazier II, Florida

Charles Mann, Georgia

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky

Archie Goodwin, Kentucky

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

Alex Poythress, Kentucky

Craig Sword, Mississippi State

Gavin Ware, Mississippi State

Michael Carrera, South Carolina


SEC All-Defensive Team                                                                     

Trevor Releford, Alabama

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida

Patric Young, Florida

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

Anthony Hickey, LSU

Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss


SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida

SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida

SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky