Welcome to the latest installment of Singled Out in Chattanooga.

Here’s how it works: Nooga.com finds eligible bachelors and bachelorettes through friends, reader suggestions, personal nominations, etc., and runs a profile of a single in the Scenic City each week.

The published questions and answers will vary from a list of 16 that every single is asked. There will always be a picture and the vitals-age, occupation, school, last relationship.

Contact information will never be supplied. Interested readers are required to do their own digging for a number, email or Facebook friend request.


Please note this is not a forum for ridicule or snippy Facebook comments, nor is it an inside joke for the Nooga.com staff.

Singled Out is a straightforward, well-intentioned series to single out the eligible Chattanoogans everyone should know.

Email Singled Out suggestions to[email protected].

Contestant No. 11

Name: Dana Rogers

Age: 48

Occupation: I worked at Wall Street investment firms in New York City, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., and Atlanta through 2002. I’m currently self-employed: online investing, real estate, mystery shopping and freelance travel writing.

School: Girls Preparatory School, University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Interested in: Men (mostly younger)

Last relationship: My last relationship lasted six months and ended in 2012.

What is your favorite way to spend a Saturday?

Before I moved here from North Carolina last week, you could find me fishing, paddleboarding, at the beach, sailboat racing, riding my beach cruiser or at the gym in yoga/spin classes on a typical Saturday. Evenings might be spent at a waterfront place drinking cold Miller Lite and eating local Stump Sound oysters. I haven’t a clue what my Saturdays will look like now that I’m in Chattanooga with no ocean.

What do you hate the most about the dating process?

I’m kind of impatient, so I don’t like the time it takes to get a potential relationship off the ground. You have to meet, date and “screen” so many people to find the right one. Also, being new in town, I don’t really know where the ideal, non-bar places are to meet quality people.

What kinds of things really make you laugh?

“Seinfeld” reruns, Chelsea Handler, sarcasm and twisted things like seeing people trip and fall.

Who is your best friend, and why is that person your best friend?

Probably my mother-she knows my history, and I can share ANYthing with her in a judgment-free atmosphere. She’s the most upbeat, positive person I know. Actually, both my parents and sister have given me unconditional love and supported every hair-brained adventure I’ve cooked up. They share the title.

Do you have any pet peeves?

Dishonesty and people who are late, unmotivated, undisciplined and don’t read, stay in shape, travel or try new things.

What does it say in the “about” section of your Facebook profile?

I’m a gregarious, adventurous, independent girl … stubborn and a bit of a smartass with a wry sense of humor. I’m also disciplined, blunt, fun-loving, moody, confident, responsible, articulate, detail-oriented, punctual, spiritual, a perfectionist, an avid reader of history and biographies, a culture and cuisine junkie, and a world traveler whenever the opportunity presents itself. Trips to Morocco, Kenya, India, St. Bart’s, Nepal, Turkey and a Wyoming dude ranch have been some of my favorites. I’m impatient and can rarely sit still for long. A typical Sagittarius, I like to move a lot … about every five to six years I try out a different city … new friends, home, job, the works! I’ve lived in NYC, L.A., D.C., and Atlanta … just to name a few. The world is my oyster, and I wouldn’t change a thing.

What is your biggest goal in life right now?

My life is pretty on-track right now, but having just returned to Lookout Mountain after 30 years away, I’m eager to get reacquainted with old friends, meet new ones and get dialed in to a really busy social life. I hate sitting around the house and love to get involved.

Do you or did you at one time have a nickname?

My dad sometimes calls me Danes/Dansie. My nickname for myself is “El Cheapo” because I’m frugal.

How close are you to your family-do you see them weekly or talk to them daily?

I’m very close to my family. I talk to my mother on the phone almost daily and spend the winter at her home in Vero Beach, Fla. My father and sister live here, so I’ll be seeing a lot more of them now that I’ve moved back. I had amazing grandparents on both sides that I wish I’d taken the time to get to know better before they passed away.

Is their approval of a relationship important to you?

Somewhat. I have a habit of dating younger, totally inappropriate bad boys with little long-term potential. I think my family just stays amused and prefers to sit on the sidelines and watch it all play out.

What was the last best meal you ate?

It was at Fogo de Chao Brazilian steakhouse in Washington, D.C., in April. Their huge fresh salad bar and the endless tender cuts of every type of meat were fantastic!

What kind of car do you drive?

Red Mercedes convertible … almost all of my cars have been red since I was 16. Hmm …

What’s your favorite place in the entire world?

That’s a tough one because I’m a travel junkie and LOVE out-of-the-way destinations. I’d have to say Venice, Italy-I’m half-Italian-is a favorite because of the food; canals; and hidden, winding walkways and bridges around town. I also sailed around the coast of Turkey … and consider it a favorite destination. The pristine water for morning swims; fresh seafood; quaint, friendly villages for day trips; and quiet coves for overnight docking are some of the best in the world.

Bonus: How many sexual partners have you had?

Not touching that one … ;-0