One more person-Gail M. Francis-qualified for the Chattanooga mayoral race this morning before the noon deadline.

Her entry makes it a five-person contest.

Two members of the City Council-Ken Smith and Carol Berz-don’t have competition, and Larry Grohn has vacated his District 4 seat to run for mayor.Darrin Ledford is the only person running for that position.


Former City CouncilmanManny Rico, who served in District 7 for eight years before Chris Anderson unseated him in 2013, is trying to reclaim the position in the upcoming election, which is scheduled for March 7.

All candidates have until noon Dec. 22 to withdraw from the race.

Several people, listed below, picked up papers but didn’t qualify.

Here is a full list of candidates who qualified for the election:

Chattanooga Mayor

  • Andy Berke – Incumbent
  • David Crockett
  • Gail M. Francis
  • Larry Grohn
  • Chris Long

City Council, District 1

  • Chip Henderson – Incumbent
  • Susan Miller
  • Jay Nevans

City Council, District 2

  • Mickey McCamish
  • Jerry Mitchell – Incumbent

City Council, District 3

  • Ken Smith–Incumbent

City Council, District 4

  • Darrin Ledford

City Council, District 5

  • Jeffrey E. Evans
  • Russell Gilbert Sr.–Incumbent
  • Cynthia G. Stanley-Cash

City Council, District 6

  • Carol B. Berz–Incumbent

City Council, District 7

  • Chris M. Anderson–Incumbent
  • Erskine Oglesby Jr.
  • Manny Rico

City Council, District 8

  • Anthony Byrd
  • Moses Freeman Jr.–Incumbent
  • Thomas P. Kunesh

City Council, District 9

  • Pat Benson Jr.
  • DemetrusCoonrod
  • Yusuf A. Hakeem–Incumbent
  • John L. Kerns

Here is a list of people who picked up papers to run for office but didn’t qualify:

City Council, District 6

  • Robert Wilson

City Council, District 7

  • MontrellBeasley
  • Donald O’Connor

City Council, District 8

  • Patrick Kellog

City Council, District 9

  • J.T. McDaniel
  • Shelby Patton

Updated @ 4:45 a.m. on 12/16/16 to correct an error.