Officials have selected four finalists for the position of Chattanooga State Community College president.

They are:

  • Dr. Rebecca Ashford, vice president of student affairs, Pellissippi State Community College, Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Advertisement
  • Dr. Pamela Haney, provost, vice president for academic affairs, Moraine Valley Community College, Palos Hill, Illinois
  • Dr. Tyjaun A. Lee, vice president for student affairs, Prince George’s Community College, Largo, Maryland
  • Dr. Kirk Nooks, president, Metropolitan Community College-Longview, Lee’s Summit, Missouri

Click here to see the candidates’curricula vitae.

Each candidate willspend a day on the Chattanooga State campusparticipating in meetings and open forums for various constituent groups, including faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members.

Ashford will visitApril 19, Haney will visit April 20, Nooks will be on campus April 21, and Lee will come April 25.

The open forums will be held on each visitday from2:30 to 3:30 the humanities auditorium on campus.

The forums will alsobe livestreamed online here.

Tennessee law sets out the process used in the selection of presidents and chancellors for the Tennessee Board of Regents and University of Tennessee systems.

After the campus visits, Board of Regents Chancellor Flora W. Tydings will gather feedback to select one candidate for nomination for the board’s approval.

The search committee worked with executive search firm Greenwood/Asher & Associates to help identify a broad range of highly qualified candidates from around the country, according to a news release.

The process resulted in 63 applicants.

The next president will succeed Tydings, who was Chattanooga State’s president until she assumed her new role as chancellor of the Board of Regents Feb. 1.

Debbie Adams, Chattanooga State’s vice president of student affairs and workforce development, was named interim president until the campus’s next leader is appointed and in office. That should happen by July 1, according to the board’s timeline.