Twelve Hamilton County schools students have been selected to be 2016 Carson Scholars.

Winners will receive a $1,000 college scholarship award and an “Olympic-sized medal,” according to Carson Scholars Fund officials.

The Carson Scholars Fund selects high-achieving fourth- through 11th-grade students “who exemplify outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities,” Carson Scholars Fund officials said.


According to a Hamilton County Department of Education news release, these students were selected to be 2016 Carson Scholars:

  • Caleb Harrigan, eighth-grader at Brown Middle School
  • Katherine Hopper, eighth-grader at Chattanooga School for the Liberal Arts
  • Isabella Jenkins, fifth-grader at Allen Elementary School
  • Ava Katherine Levine, fourth-grader at Nolan Elementary School
  • Kristen McCampbell, 11th-grader at Sequoyah High School
  • Alyssa McGhee, fifth-grader at Lakeside Academy
  • Ashlyn Meeks, 10th-grader at Soddy-Daisy High School
  • De’Shayla Moore Caldwell, 10th-grader at Howard High School
  • Madelyn Morrison, fifth-grader at Apison Elementary School
  • Hardi Patel, 11th-grader at East Ridge High School
  • Eben Shriner, fourth-grader at Thrasher Elementary School
  • Jaxon Thurman, fifth-grader at Wallace A. Smith Elementary School

These students will be honored at a ceremony April 24 at UTC, the HCDE news release said.

Additionally, 25 local students renewed their Carson Scholars status by maintaining high academic standing, the HCDE news release said.

This is the 20th anniversary of the Carson Scholars Fund. This year, 625 students were selected nationwide to be first-time recipients, according to officials with the Carson Scholars Fund. To date, more than 7,300 scholarships have been awarded.

Updated @ 3:35 p.m.on 3/24/16.