Election day is today, Aug. 2, and polling locations in Hamilton County are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Here are a few tips to help make your visit to the polls go smoothly:

  • A photo ID issued by the state of Tennessee or federal government is required to vote.
  • Before heading to the polls, consider using the Tennessee Secretary of State’s GoVoteTN App to verify your voter registration status, voting location and the races/districts you’re eligible to vote in.
  • For a quick look at all candidates/races appearing on the ballot, check out sample ballots on the election commission website.

To help readers get to know candidates, Nooga.com published question-and-answer interviews sent to candidates appearing on the Aug. 2 ballot. Candidates who submitted answers to our questions are listed below, grouped by the office sought and ordered alphabetically by last name.

Tennessee Governor

Karl Dean — Q&A
Craig Fitzhugh — Q&A
Beth Harwell — Q&A
Kay White — Q&A

U.S. Senate

Marsha Blackburn — Q&A
Phil Bredesen — Q&A
Aaron L. Pettigrew — Q&A

U.S. House District 3

William E. Spurlock, Sr. — Q&A

State Senate District 11

Randall “Randy” Price — Q&A
Bo Watson — Q&A

State House District 26

David Jones — Q&A

State House District 27

Brent S. Morris — Q&A

State House District 28

Melody Shekari — Q&A
Lemon C. Williams, Jr. — Q&A

Hamilton County Mayor

Aloyse Brown — Q&A

Hamilton County Commission District 2

Elizabeth Baker — Q&A

Hamilton County Commission District 4

Chris Dahl — Q&A

Hamilton County Commission District 6

David Sharpe — Q&A

Hamilton County Sheriff

Jim Hammond — Q&A

Hamilton County Criminal Court Clerk

Vince Dean — Q&A

Hamilton County Register of Deeds

Marc Gravitt — Q&A
Vickie Schroyer — Q&A

Hamilton County School Board District 3

Joe Smith — Q&A

Hamilton County School Board District 5

Karitsa Mosley — Q&A
Ann Pierre — Q&A

Hamilton County School Board District 6

Michael Henry — Q&A
Jenny Hill — Q&A

Hamilton County School Board District 8

Tucker McClendon — Q&A